What is AutoSave?

This FAQ was last modified on: Wednesday, September 6, 2017 11:37am

 

What is AutoSave?

 

Applies To: Excel 2016 PowerPoint 2016

AutoSave

"Save early, save often" is now a thing of the past. Now there's AutoSave which saves every few seconds so that you don't have to. It's available in Excel and PowerPoint 2016 for Office 365 subscribers.

AutoSave is enabled when a file is stored on OneDrive, OneDrive for Business, or SharePoint Online. It automatically saves your changes to the cloud as you are working. And, if other people are working on the same file, AutoSave lets them see your changes in a matter of seconds.

Note: Do you use File > Save As after making changes to an original document or template? If so, we recommend using File > Save a Copy before making your changes. That way AutoSave won't overwrite the original file with the changes. If AutoSave did overwrite the file with your changes, see the section below, "I didn't want my changes saved, how do I go back?"

 
  • AutoSave is a new feature available in Excel and PowerPoint 2016 for Office 365 subscribers. It saves your file for you so that you don't have to.

  • AutoSave will save every few seconds. Although the time can vary depending on what you are working on.

 

Cursor clicking filename, See all verisons

At the top of the window, click the filename, and then click See all versions. Review the dates and times to find the version that you want to restore, and then click Open version. A second window will open. To roll back to this version, click the Restore button.

 

File > Save a Copy

Save As isn't on the File menu when you open a document from OneDrive, OneDrive for Business or SharePoint Online. In these cases, the Save a Copy command appears on the File menu instead.

 
  • Save isn't on the File menu when you open a document from OneDrive, OneDrive for Business or SharePoint Online. In these cases, AutoSave defaults to being on, so there's no need to go to File > Save. Instead, AutoSave saves for you.

  • AutoSave appears in the upper-left corner if you are an Office 365 subscriber, and you have the latest versions of Excel and PowerPoint 2016 installed. If you're not a subscriber, don't worry. There's still AutoRecover. AutoRecover helps protect files in case of a crash. If you reopen the file after a crash, a version of the file with your latest changes appears in a Document Recovery pane. For more information on how to turn it on, see Help protect your files in case of a crash.

  • AutoSave is enabled when working on a file that is saved to OneDrive, OneDrive for Business, or SharePoint Online. If the file is saved to another location, then AutoSave is disabled. This will happen if your file is on a SharePoint On Premises site, a file server, or saved to a local path like C:\.

    There are other reasons AutoSave could be disabled as well. For example, if your file is in an older format like .xls, .ppt, or .doc., it will be disabled. It will also be disabled if your presentation is in slide show mode, or if your workbook contains password protection. If AutoSave is disabled, you can always hover over the AutoSave switch and a tooltip will tell you why it's off.

  • There are two ways to do this. One way is to select File > Save a Copy, and save the file to another location. This lets you work on a completely separate copy of the file.

    The other way is to turn the AutoSave switch off before you make your changes. If the changes are meant to be temporary and not saved, close the file. Then click No when you are asked to save.

  • If you don’t want to save continually and you don't want to show others your changes, you can turn AutoSave off. Then, when you’re ready, click Save to show your changes to the other people working on the file. (Or, you can also turn the AutoSave switch back on to save and share your changes.)

    The default for AutoSave is to always be On for files that are on the cloud. However, if you turn AutoSave Off for a file, the program will remember and will keep it off every time you reopen that file. If you switch it back On for a file, it will remember to keep in on for that file.

  • No. When AutoSave is off, AutoRecover still works. For more information, see Help protect your files in case of a crash. When AutoSave is on, AutoRecover isn’t on, but don’t worry. Your file is getting saved every few seconds to the cloud. So if you crash while editing a file on the cloud, just reopen the file.

  • No. However, you can turn AutoSave Off for a file, and the program will remember to keep it off every time you reopen that file. If you switch it back On for a file, it will remember to keep in on for that file.