What is an Office 365 Group?

This FAQ was last modified on: Friday, September 15, 2017 12:42pm

Office 365 Groups is a productive service that bridges the gap and brings together conversations, emails, file sharing into one convenient location. Team interactions are now more social than traditional one-way communications have been.  With features like @mentions and likes, Office 365 Groups aims to streamline communications. Office 365 Groups include a number of additional features as well.

When you are part of a group, all the email messages and meeting invitations are sent directly to your inbox. But they’re also stored in your group folder. So don’t worry about accidentally deleting something or creating a rule to move mail from your inbox to a private folder. Delete it from your inbox after reading it and know there’s still a copy safely stored in your searchable group folder; in fact, all the messages since the group began are stored in the group folder. Even if you weren’t a member at the beginning, you’ll get to see the full history once you join.

Note: Microsoft continues to add new features/applications to Office 365. Due to resource limitations, certain features/applications may not be currently available. All O365 Groups are created Private as a default; if you need a Group to be public, please let us know.

For a quick overview of groups, visit https://support.office.com/en-US/Article/Video-Introducing-groups-in-Office-365-76cc8193-9554-4f85-8c76-bd151763b6e7.

With a O365 Group, you get:
  • Outlook Mailbox and Calendar